le-cru-la-liviniere

The Cru La Livinière

Singular and multifaceted, the first cru to be recognized in the Languedoc in 1999, La Livinière is an appellation of powerful and elegant red wines. It is situated in the heart of the Minervois, between Toulouse and Montpellier.

THE BELLTOWER OF LA LIVINIERE,
LIKE A LIGHTHOUSE AT THE TIP OF THE HEADLAND

The winemakers call it ‘the beacon of the cru’. It was chosen for its symbolism. It is a strong image. With its delicate twin bays and flat stone roof, the belltower of the La Livinière church stands out in silhouette above the village and the vast terrace of the Minervois, which is spread out below. Like a lighthouse at the tip of the headland.
It is not just an illusion. Not that the Mediterranean, less than 50km away as the crow flies, can be glimpsed on the horizon. But 50 million years ago, when the Atlantic Ocean opened the breach of the Gulf of Gascony, a warm shallow sea seeped in to the north of the Pyrenees, until it came to lap at the most southerly slopes of the Massif Central. And La Livinière marks the most southerly point of this most ancient coastline.

 

the-terroir

The Terroir

SEA LINGERED THERE A FEW MILLION YEARS.

map
T hough but a speck on the scale of the planet’s history of course, it was long enough to form the base of the giant limestone slab of the Causse of Minerve, and to trace the key features of the relief, and forge the underlying elements of the mineral melting-pot that makes up the terroir of La Livinière. A mixture of limestone, pebbles, sand and clay where alluvial deposit and erosion have patiently carried out their work: hollowing out gorges in the limestone plateau of the causse, a little lower down shaping the succession of sandstone hills dotted with woods, and lastly carpeting the terraces with pebbles. An elaborate preparation of the ground for viticulture, possible up to 400m above sea level.

 

the-vineyards

The Vineyards

WITH 350 HECTARES OF VINES SCATTERED IN THE GARRIGUE, THE CRU SEEMS TO BE ETCHED INTO THE LIMESTONE PLATEAU OF THE CAUSSE

vineyard-la-liviniere

La Livinière didn’t fall from the sky. Lavineira, the earliest written mention of it in 1069, means ‘a place planted with vines’.


This is proof that the first plantations carried out by the Roman colonizers had a ripple effect. And that men have not stopped since etching their presence onto the landscape. The little fields of vines bear witness to this, as well as the innumerable drystone walls running the length and breadth of the countryside.

land-la-liviniere

It was a laborious job of grazing and clearing to defeat the garrigue and the woods, and end up with 350 hectares dedicated to the production of the precious cru La Livinière – scattered over 2700 hectares of the official terrain of the appellation, which extends into the tortuous territory of six village districts: La Livinière, Siran, Cesseras, Félines-Minervois, Azille and Azillanet.


The pioneering visionaries of the syndicate of the cru, Maurice Piccinini and Roger Piquet quickly brought to light the qualities of this inland archipelago at the heart of the Minervois.

 

the-winemakers

The Winemakers

A CRU WOULDN’T BE A CRU WITHOUT EACH WINEMAKER’S INDIVIDUAL STAMP.

portrait-of-winemakers
Singular of course, it is nonetheless also multifaceted. Each winemaker’s individual touch complements the influence of the variety of stone, the position of the vineyards on the slopes, and the degree of southern exposure. Each winemaker brings distinctive approaches to each stage of the elaboration of each wine. These are a question of style and orient the profile of the wine. Everything is in order and happily so.
And always, there is respect for the other. The representatives of the forty winemakers that are included in the cru La Livinière today meet regularly to taste their respective wines and elect those ones that seem to them, at the time, to be the most emblematic of the cru. These bottles form what they call ‘the Collection’, with a nod to stylists of a different kind.

Press kit

winemakers-gallery
Domaine Chabbert
Vieux Continent
Domaine Rouanet Montcélèbre
Domaine JP Charpentier
Champs du Lièvre
Domaine Cantaussel
Domaine de Tholomies
Domaine La Siranière
Domaine de la Senche
Château Sainte-Eulalie
Domaine la Rouviole
Clos des Roques
Domaine du Roc
Domaine Piccinini
Clos des Pères
Château Pépusque
Mas Paumarhel
Domaine de l’Oustal Blanc
L’Ostal Cazes
Clos d’Ora
Château Mignan
Clos du Marbrier
Château Massamier la Mignarde
Château Maris
Domaine Lignères-Lathenay
Château Laville Bertrou
Domaine Laur-Bauzil
Château de Gourgazaud
Château de Fauzan
Château Faîteau
Château La Croix Martelle
Les Coteaux du Minervois
Château Cesseras
Clos Centeilles
Domaine La Borie Blanche
Domaine Borie de Maurel
Domaine Ancely
Alliance Minervois
Domaine Aimé
Les Combes cachées
Tour Trencavel
the-wines

The wines

THE TRIO SYRAH, GRENACHE, CARIGNAN RENDERED HERE IN ONE OF ITS MOST ENCHANTING INCARNATIONS

wines-in-details
capsule-bouteilles

T he power of the red wines of La Livinière can be explained by the dominant strength of the mineral, the slopes facing south towards the sun, and the paucity of rainfall – barely 400 to 500 millimetres a year.

But, the sunny nature of the red wines of La Livinière is luckily tempered by the breezes that sweep down from the plateau at night. This is what lends the feeling of elegance, the coolness and the sweetness to the tanins in the wines of the cru. A natural balance that the winemakers have learnt to enhance. In particular, by selecting the right combination from the palette of grape varieties. That is, essentially, mixing the ‘northern’ syrah with grenache and carignan native to the south. A major trio rendered here in one of its most enchanting incarnations. It is powerful and elegant in the mouth, with aromas of ripe fruit, strong essences of the garrigue, of olives, sometime truffles, cool minty hints, and spicy notes. In short, a singular and multifaceted harmony that echoes the landscape.

wines-selection

The 2017 Collection of the cru La Livinière

How to expose the singular essence of the appellation, the plethora of winemakers’ styles, and the spirit of the moment? This is the challenge for the jury of journalists, sommeliers and winemakers, who choose a selection of wines to be the ambassadors of the cru during one year.

cuvees-liviniere2016

JURY OF JOURNALISTS

  • Clos Centeilles
    Clos Centeilles 2011
  • Domaine de Tholomiès
    Domaine de Tholomiès 2015
  • L’Oustal Blanc
    Prima Donna 2014

JURY OF SOMMELIERS

  • Domaine la Siranière
    Minervois-La Livinière 2012*
  • Domaine Ancely
    Les Vignes Oubliées 2013
  • Mas Paumarhel
    Mourel Rouge 2014

JURY OF WINEMAKERS

  • Château Faîteau
    Gaston 2014*
  • Champs du Lièvre
    Minervois-La Livinière 2015
  • Château Maris
    Dynamic 2014

wines-gallery
Château Maris
Champs du Lièvre
Château Faîteau
L’Oustal Blanc
Domaine de Tholomiès
Clos Centeilles
Mas Paumarhel
Domaine Ancely
Domaine la Siranière
heritage

Heritage

NEOLITHIC DOLMENS AND ROMANESQUE CHAPELS – THE CRU LA LIVINIÈRE STANDS OUT ALSO FOR ITS RICH HERITAGE.

presentation-of-heritage
Thanks to archaeological excavations carried out in the cave of Aldène, nestled in the canyon of the Cesse, man’s presence in this corner of the Languedoc for over 6,000 years can be confirmed.

That is to say that man had the time to impress his presence into the landscape. And even if history has not spared them all, lots of monuments have survived. There are the dolmens, such as the Fades dolmens near Pépieux, those of the Planette plateau at Félines, and the Cigalière dolmen on the limestone plateau overlooking Cesseras. Then there are the castles. And a whole host of religious buildings, including beautiful chapels like the one at Centeilles, near Siran, with its 15th-century frescoes, or the Saint-Germain chapel, with its Lombard bands characteristic of the first southern Romanesque art, nestled in the pines beside Cesseras. Other remains of a colourful past are the former marble quarries above Félines-Minervois, where they quarried the blocks of Turquin and Griotte red to be used at Versailles.

nous-contacter

logo-liviniere2

Contact

Please use the contact form for all further information.

le-cru-la-liviniere

Le Cru La Livinière

Singulier et pluriel, premier cru reconnu en Languedoc en 1999, La Livinière est une appellation de vins rouges puissants et élégants. Elle est située au cœur du Minervois, entre Toulouse et Montpellier.

LE CLOCHER DE LA LIVINIERE, TEL UN PHARE AU BOUT D’UN CAP

Les vignerons l’appellent « le phare du cru ». Ils l’ont choisi pour symbole. L’image est forte. Avec ses fines baies jumelées et son toit de pierres plates, le clocher de l’église de La Livinière dresse sa silhouette au-dessus du village et de la vaste terrasse du Minervois qui se déploie en contrebas. Tel un phare posé à l’extrémité d’un cap.
Ce n’est pas seulement une vue de l’esprit. Non pas que la Méditerranée, à moins de 50 km à vol d’oiseau, se devine à l’horizon. Mais il y a 50 millions d’années, lorsque l’océan Atlantique a ouvert la brèche du golfe de Gascogne, une mer chaude et peu profonde s’est faufilée au Nord des Pyrénées jusqu’à venir lécher les pentes les plus méridionales du Massif Central. Et La Livinière marque, au Sud, la pointe ultime de ce très ancien front de côte.

 

le-terroir

Le Terroir

LA MER S’EST ATTARDÉE LÀ QUELQUES MILLIONS D’ANNÉES.

carte
R ien à l’échelle de l’histoire de la planète. Assez longtemps cependant pour constituer la vaste dalle calcaire du Causse de Minerve, tracer les lignes de force du relief et poser les bases du melting-pot minéral du terroir de La Livinière. Un mélange de schistes, de grès, de quartz, de marbre et de calcaire, de cailloux, de sables et d’argiles où les alluvions et l’érosion ont patiemment fait leur œuvre. Creusant des gorges dans le causse, façonnant un peu plus bas la succession de collines gréseuses parsemée de bois, tapissant enfin la terrasse de cailloux. Et préparant, jusqu’à 400 mètres d’altitude, le terrain à la viticulture.

 

le-vignoble

Le Vignoble

Avec 350 hectares de vignes dispersés dans la garrigue, le Cru semble gravé dans le Causse

soustwo

La Livinière n’est pas tombée du ciel. Lavineira, sa plus ancienne mention écrite en 1069, signifie « lieu planté de vignes ».


C’est la preuve que les premières plantations réalisées par les colons romains ont fait tache d’huile. Et que les hommes n’ont cessé depuis de graver leur présence dans le paysage. Les parcelles de vignes en témoignent. Mais aussi les innombrables murettes de pierres qui sillonnent le décor.

sous_three

Patient travail de défrichage et de conquête sur la garrigue et les bois pour parvenir à 350 hectares consacrés à la précieuse production du cru La Livinière disséminés dans les 2700 hectares de l’aire officielle de l’appellation qui court sur le territoire tourmenté de six communes : La Livinière, Siran, Cesseras, Félines-Minervois, Azille et Azillanet.


Un archipel intérieur dont les pionniers visionnaires du syndicat de cru, Maurice Piccinini et Roger Piquet, ont rapidement fait valoir la distinction au sein du Minervois.

 

documents-officiels

Documents officiels

les-vignerons

Les vignerons

UN CRU NE SERAIT PAS UN CRU SI CHAQUE VIGNERON N’Y METTAIT PAS SA PATTE.

portrait-des-vignerons
Singulier sans doute, il n’en est pas moins aussi pluriel. A la variété des cailloux, à l’étagement des parcelles sur les pentes, à leur exposition plus ou moins méridionale aussi, le ressenti et la main de chacun ajoutent leur influence. Avec, à chaque étape de l’élaboration d’une cuvée, des partis pris qui sont affaire de style et orientent le profil du vin. C’est dans l’ordre des choses et c’est heureux.
Et toujours dans le respect de l’autre. A ce titre, les représentants des quarante caves que compte aujourd’hui le cru La Livinière ont pris l’habitude de se retrouver pour déguster régulièrement leurs vins respectifs et élire les cuvées qui leur paraissent, dans l’instant, les plus emblématiques du cru. Des bouteilles qui forment ce qu’ils appellent la Collection, clin d’oeil à des stylistes d’un autre type.

Dossier de presse

galerie-photos-vignerons
Vieux Continent
Domaine Rouanet Montcélèbre
Domaine JP Charpentier
Champs du Lièvre
Domaine Cantaussel
Domaine de Tholomies
Domaine La Siranière
Domaine de la Senche
Château Sainte-Eulalie
Domaine la Rouviole
Clos des Roques
Domaine du Roc
Domaine Piccinini
Clos des Pères
Château Pépusque
Mas Paumarhel
Domaine de l’Oustal Blanc
L’Ostal Cazes
Clos d’Ora
Domaine des Murettes
Château Mignan
Clos du Marbrier
Château Massamier la Mignarde
Château Maris
Domaine Lignères-Lathenay
Château Laville Bertrou
Domaine Laur-Bauzil
Château de Gourgazaud
Château de Fauzan
Château Faîteau
Château La Croix Martelle
Les Coteaux du Minervois
Domaine La Combe Blanche
Domaine Chabbert-Fauzan
Château Cesseras
Clos Centeilles
Domaine La Borie Blanche
Domaine Borie de Maurel
Domaine Ancely
Domaine des Aires Hautes
Alliance Minervois
Domaine Aimé
Les Combes cachées
Tour Trencavel
vins

Les Vins

Le trio syrah, grenache, carignan a trouvé ici l’une de ses expressions les plus envoûtantes

vins-de-liviniere
capsule-bouteilles

L a force dominante du minéral, les pentes orientées au Sud, face au soleil, à peine 400 à 500 mm de pluie chaque année : voilà qui explique la puissance des vins rouges de La Livinière.

Mais ce caractère solaire est heureusement tempéré par les courants d’air dévalant la nuit les pentes du causse. De là la sensation de fraîcheur, la finesse et la douceur des tanins des vins du cru. Un équilibre naturel que les vignerons ont su valoriser. En particulier, en trouvant dans la palette des cépages, la combinaison la plus juste. Soit, pour l’essentiel, la “nordique” syrah associée aux méridionaux grenache et carignan. Trio majeur qui a trouvé ici l’une de ses expressions les plus envoûtantes. Puissance et élégance en bouche. Parfums de fruits mûrs, essences fortes de garrigue, d’olive, de truffe parfois, fraîches nuances balsamiques ou mentholées, notes d’épices. Bref, une harmonie singulière qui fait écho au paysage.

galerie-vins

La Collection 2016 du cru La Livinière

Comment révéler l’étoffe singulière de l’appellation, la pluralité des styles des vignerons et l’air du temps ?
C’est le défi relevé par des jurys de journalistes, sommeliers et vignerons, à travers la sélection des cuvées qui seront, un an durant, les ambassadrices du cru.

cuvees-liviniere2016

JURY JOURNALISTES

  • Domaine Borie de Maurel
    La Féline 2014*
  • Domaine La Siranière
    La Livinière 2013
  • Château Sainte-Eulalie
    La Cantilène 2013

*Grand Prix du Jury

JURY SOMMELIERS

  • Clos Centeilles
    La Livinière 2010*
  • Clos Centeilles
    La Livinière 2001
  • Château de Fauzan
    L’Aldène 2013

JURY VIGNERONS

  • Château de Cesseras
    La Livinière 2012*
  • Domaine de la Borie Blanche
    Terroirs d’altitude 2013
  • Château Laville-Bertrou
    La Livinière 2014

galerie-des-vins
Château Laville-Bertrou
Domaine de la Borie Blanche
Château de Cesseras
Château de Fauzan
Clos Centeilles 2001
Clos Centeilles 2010
Château Sainte-Eulalie
Domaine La Siranière
Domaine Borie de Maurel
le-patrimoine

Le patrimoine

DOLMENS DU NÉOLITHIQUE OU CHAPELLES ROMANES, LE CRU LA LIVINIÈRE SE SINGULARISE AUSSI PAR LA RICHESSE DE SON PATRIMOINE.

presentation-du-patrimoine
Grâce aux fouilles archéologiques réalisées dans la grotte de l’Aldène, nichée dans le canyon de la Cesse, la présence de l’homme est attestée depuis 6000 ans dans ce coin du Languedoc.

C’est dire que l’homme a eu le temps de marquer sa présence dans le paysage. Et si l’histoire n’en a pas épargné certains, beaucoup de monuments ont survécu. Des dolmens, tels ceux des Fades à Pépieux, du plateau de la Planette à Félines, et de Cigalière sur le causse qui domine Cesseras. Des châteaux. Et tout un cortège d’édifices religieux, dont de très belles chapelles comme Centeilles, avec ses fresques du XVe siècle près de Siran, ou Saint-Germain, avec ses bandes lombardes caractéristiques du premier art roman méridional, nichée dans les pins à côté de Cesseras.
Autres vestiges d’un riche passé, les anciennes carrières de marbre au-dessus de Félines-Minervois, d’où été extraits les blocs de rouge Turquin et Griotte destinés notamment à Versailles.

blog-three

Blog

Retrouvez les actualités et les événements de l'appellation La Livinière.

nous-contacter

logo-liviniere2

Contact

Pour toutes informations, veuillez utiliser le formulaire de contact.